Let your Creative Adventure Begin…CREATIVITY + ART = FUN

A morning in the Garden…

This morning the garden called. The light was slanting just so. The buds on the flowers where ready to explode into color and the birds were chirping loudly. A beautiful day was about to begin.  I hadn’t finished my garden chores the day before so I was heading out to put in the last of the veggies and do a bit of deadheading on the blooms that have been giving us days of pleasure. It was quiet and calm. Just right for slow,  mindful gardening.

"Age creeping up on us"...stoneware clay sculpture...circa 1980

My mind was wandering as it usually does when I’m occupied with a task that I enjoy.  It was my daughter’s Birthday and I was thinking about how it seemed like a short time ago that she was born. I was a young mother…  filled with hopes and dreams for the future.  
                                                                                     
Now, looking back, most of those dreams have come true. I had twin sons 2 years later and have had a wonderful family life with my husband and children.  It’s time for a whole new set of dreams to be set into motion.These days I’m more mindful of what it is I want to create. A lot more focused than I was back in the 70’s. And very thankful that I have time to spend…
 “A Morning in the Garden”.
 
 
 “Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more.”

 

Photography and Sculpture by Shirley McGann.

7 responses

  1. Lovely thoughts, Shishi and I love that sculpture. It reminds me of one that a visiting artist did with the high school kids when I was teaching.

    June 9, 2010 at 8:02 am

  2. Paula V

    Nice photos Shishi…and ruminations!

    June 9, 2010 at 8:49 pm

  3. Shishi

    Thanks Paula and Pat. I’ve been having fun with my camera taking pictures in the garden. That poor sculpture keeps getting shorter and shorter every year. I have left her out in the weather for all these decades. Snow, ice, hurricanes….She’s been through it all. She sure is showing signs of age… She used to have legs!

    June 9, 2010 at 9:10 pm

  4. beautiful flowers shirley. i was just in my garden this morning too thinking about how exciting it is to see all the new blooms! the garden is always a great place to reflect. =)

    June 10, 2010 at 10:32 am

  5. Great job on the blog! Your journal pages are beautiful. Keep up the good work.

    June 11, 2010 at 8:49 am

  6. Orianne

    As a fellow ‘flier’ who is learning how to soar, I thought I would drop in and say Bravo for taking flight and starting your blog. I have not done so yet; there is so much to absorb and to contemplate, but I hope that I will soon feel it’s time to leave the nest and try out my wings by starting my blog.

    I enjoyed your post about spending time in the garden. It’s true what you said about gratitude. When I take a walk in mine, even a small one, I am always grateful and that does make me feel that what I have is enough. Thank you for reminding me.

    June 20, 2010 at 6:56 am

  7. Lori

    Pink peonies are my favorite flower! Beautiful pic!

    August 25, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Leave a Reply

