Let your Creative Adventure Begin…CREATIVITY + ART = FUN

Redoing…

I learned how to embroider from my Grandmother Clara…she was a prize-winning stitcher with strict rules of how to do things…fingers just so…needle must enter here…etc. She taught me the “right way” to do stitching. NOW…I’m doing it my way! I have dozens of her pieces. This one was a plain white linen with her signature crochet edging.

Some dyeing to update

I stained the edging with “Color Wash” by Adirondack…it is a Tim Holtz product and works well on fabric. This is a mossy color…Mushroom. I am attaching a foundationless weaving to it and may use it on a side table….or maybe put it on a jacket. Who knows.

Clara's linen getting a new Life

 I still have to turn under all the edges and do a lot of stitching on it. ..but it’s starting to come alive. 

Grace from Jude’s class said:

“something about all this ReDoing..that is very
energetic, very really, forgiving of them for their
rules and us for not going by those rules. the
outcome is beauty and happiness.
i also love though that you care Full y kept her
signature edging. i think she would approve.
happiness here.”      

Jude said:

 “you have preserved her special touch and added your own. honor and journey combined. …now you are walking together”

I like these thoughts…and I know that Clara would too.

“Perfection is not when there is no more to add, but no more to take away.”

– Antoine de Saint-Exupery

 

One response

  1. Beth

    Lovely work! I think this person ripped your Grandma off for her edging pattern, because it is the same one as in this book Crochet Edgings for Receiving blankets by Terry Kimbrough. http://www.ecrater.com/p/9000485/crochet-edging-pattern-for-receiving-blankets-or?gps=1# It’s #6. Unless your grandma is Terry Kimbrough!

    August 27, 2012 at 6:57 pm

Leave a Reply

