Let your Creative Adventure Begin…CREATIVITY + ART = FUN

Spinning Silk

I spent the morning working with Silk. I had come across some dyed silk in hankie form.

20130612-145624.jpg
I separated the layers and drafted them.

20130612-145814.jpg
The spinning went quite well and I found myself getting a rhythm. I now have quite a bit on the spool. I like how the color intensified.

20130612-150033.jpg
Next I need to decide what to ply it with….silk, merino, cotton?? I’ll sample some up later this week and see what I like best.

I came home from guild with a bag of llama in this beautiful chestnut brown color. It will need a lot of attention to get it spinnable.

20130612-150610.jpg

I’ve never spun this raw fiber before. I’m curious how it handles. I’ll let you know.

4 responses

  1. nancymorse917@comcast.net

    Hi Shishi,

    This looks like fun…a lot of work, though.

    Hope you are well.  Please don’t forget to let me know when you plan that class where you’re making the little squares filled with whatnots!

    Nancy

    June 13, 2013 at 5:40 am

    • Yes, very time consuming-but relaxing. This silk is so fine that it makes a beautiful thread, too. Perfect for stitching on something special.

      Yes, I will let you know about the mosaic squares workshop.

      Sent from my iPad

      June 13, 2013 at 10:47 am

  2. Kathy C

    love the color of the silk!

    June 18, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    • Watching it spin onto the bobbin is mesmerizing! A form of meditation actually. I have filled 2. Time to ply them together. That is always exciting.

      June 18, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Leave a Reply

